This was long overdue, but it’s finally here!

So first off, if you are reading this, thanks for showing interest in this new outlet I’m taking! I’ve been wanting to do a blog for a really long time, just like I wanted to get back into dancing for a long time. So just like I made the time to bring dance back in my life, I’m now making the time to write, along with several other goals I’ve made for the new year. One of the main ways I’ll be writing more is through this blog. It’s still under construction, but I’ll be using this as a space to politic about social justice from a global perspective, to review music/bring musical nostalgia, to rave and rant about the dance scene and community, my devopment in liberation theology, and whatever else can be expressed in this crazy mind I have as cartharsis.

Which brings me to this blog’s title-for-now. “Cast off what is useless” is a philosophy of the legendary martial artist Bruce Lee. He is one of my greatest influences in many aspects of my life, from art to work ethic. This will be my mantra for 2009, physically, emotionally, and mentally. 2008 was a great year, but I tended to carry excess baggage in the three areas i just mentioned. I also added to the title, “Utilize what is useful.” And so I’ll be doing and working on things this year that will be useful not just to me, but to the community as well, this blog being one of them. So some of my goals for 2009 are:

Get into a Ph.D. program by 2009, whether it be USF, Rutgers, UH, or UCI.

Bring in more focus in my community organizing, rather than having responsibilities in the many organizations I belong to.

Do shows, create pieces, start dance projects that are based on social consciousness.

Live a more green lifestyle.

Live a cleaner, healthier lifestyle physically, mentally, and spiritually.

And above all, putting the same love, labor, and energy that I put to serving the people into my own well-being. I’ve neglected my own happiness and well-being for too long, for the sake that everyone I care about is taken care of first.

Doing this blog is useful to me because I want the community and whoever else reads this to hold me accountable to the goals I set for myself and the words I say, so can constantly be better in serving the people, and never forgetting that I’m part of the people as well.

Oh, and by the way, HAPPY 2009 ERRRBODY!

rl-jump1

ISULONG! (MOVE FORWARD!)

2 Responses to “This was long overdue, but it’s finally here!”

  1. Good stuff!!! I’ll check it out.

  2. Jen Victoria Says:

    Yay, a blog! I look forward to reading more. (Much props to the photographer who took your banner pic. Who could that be? lol.)

Leave a Reply

